NEHC Announces Women's Major Awards And All-Conference Teams

MARSHFIELD, Mass. The New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) women's division announced the recipients of the league's major award winners, All-Conference and All-Rookie Teams as selected by the league's fourteen head coaches.

Kara Violette (Biddeford, Maine) of College of the Holy Cross earned Player of the Year honors after notching 24 points in NEHC action. Her 13 goals in conference were tied for third in the NEHC. The junior forward posted 33 total points on the season on 17 goals and 16 assists. She paced a Crusaders offense that ranked third in the NEHC, scoring 4.12 goals per game against their conference foes.

After leading the NEHC with a .937 save percentage Shannon O'Neil (Tewksbury, Mass.) was named Goaltender of the Year. O'Neil posted an 11-5-0 record in conference pay and registered 385 saves. Her 1.63 goals against average ranked fifth in the NEHC while her 957 minutes played were good for second.

Norwich University's Amanda Conway (Methuen, Mass.) was a unanimous selection for Rookie of the Year amongst eligible voters as she led NEHC freshmen in scoring with 20 points on 15 goals and five assists. Her 15 goals were tied for the league lead in goal scoring. She also led the conference with seven power play goals on the season.

Kerstin Matthews of Saint Anselm College was selected as Coach of the Year by her peers after guiding the Hawks to an NEHC regular season title and number one seed in the Open Tournament. Saint Anselm led the conference in scoring offense, posting 5.82 goals per game and tied for top spot in the NEHC in scoring defense, surrendering only 1.24 goals per game.

Saint Anselm also saw two players named to the first team in forward Alison Butler (Danvers, Mass.) and defender Martha Findley (Duxbury, Mass.). Butler led the NEHC in scoring with 33 points on nine goals and 24 assists (which were also a league-high). Findley was a threat from the blueline as her 20 points (three goals and 17 assists) ranked second in the NEHC in defenseman scoring.

Rounding out the first team is a duo from Norwich University in Kim Tiberi (Raleigh, N.C.) and Sarah Schwenzfeier (Hingham, Mass.). Tiberi led all blueliners in scoring with 27 points on ten goals and 17 assists. 11 of the junior's points also came on the power play, tied for fourth best in the NEHC. Once again Schwenzfeier found herself amongst the top league point scorers with a balanced 13 goals and 13 assists for 26 points. The junior forward was also a threat on the power play with her 12 points ranking third in the conference.

Norwich led the league with seven selections to the All-Conference and All-Rookie teams.

Below is a complete list of the 2016-2017 NEHC All-Conference and All-Rookie Teams.

Forward: Kara Violette, College of the Holy Cross
Forward: Sarah Schwenzfeier, Norwich University
Forward: Alison Butler, Saint Anselm College
Defense: Kim Tiberi, Norwich University
Defense: Martha Findley, Saint Anselm College
Goaltender: Shannon O'Neil, Franklin Pierce University

Forward: Sam Girard, College of the Holy Cross
Forward: Nicole Mensi, Manhattanville College
Forward: Alex Starzyk, Saint Anselm College
Defense: Isabela Bagi, College of the Holy Cross
Defense: Amanda Cronin, Salve Regina University
Goaltender*: Rachel Myette, UMass Boston
Goaltender*: Laurie King, Norwich University

Forward: Alex Brolsma, Franklin Pierce University
Forward: Elizabeth Scala, College of the Holy Cross
Forward: Adrieanna Rossini, Norwich University
Defense: Taryn Harris, Manhattanville College
Defense: Carly Menges, Norwich University
Goaltender: Britney Evangelista, University of Southern Maine

Forward*: Meg Gilbride, Franklin Pierce University
Forward*: Amanda Sabia, Manhattanville College
Forward*: Amanda Conway, Norwich University
Forward*: Sophie McGovern, Norwich University
Defense: Hannah Gillis, College of the Holy Cross
Defense: Megan Klaus, Saint Anselm College
Goaltender: Alexis Kalm, Castleton University

*Indicates additional players added due to a tie in voting.