Holy Cross Tops St. Anselm In Overtime, 4-3, To Win NEHC Open Championship

MANCHESTER, N.H. Elizabeth Scala (Rumford, R.I.) netted the game-winning goal in overtime to lift the College of the Holy Cross over Saint Anselm College 4-3 in the New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) Open Championship. This marked the sixth NEHC Open Championship for the Crusaders and second straight.

Holy Cross got going early as Danielle Doherty (Wakefield, Mass.) opened the scoring only 2:43 into the game off a pass from teammate Erin Hall (Pembroke, Mass.) to put the Crusaders up 1-0.

In the second period it was the Hawks' Alison Butler (Danvers, Mass.) who tied the game at one with a tally less than four minutes into the period. The Hawks took their first lead of the game later in the period when Butler again found the back of the net, this time off a rebound.

Sam Girard (Dedham, Mass.) tied the game with under two to play in the second period as she took the puck from behind the net and beat Hannah Synnott (Montclair, N.J.) with the wrap around goal. The Crusaders added another wrap around score in the third period, but this time it was Kara Violette (Biddeford, Maine), as they took a 3-2 lead with under 15 to play in regulation.

The Hawks continued to press in the third and it was Butler once again as she potted her third goal of the day to tie the game at three all with less than ten minutes to play. The rest of the third period continued with back-and-forth play as regulation came to a close.

The game-winner came at the 2:56 mark in overtime as Scala beat Synnott low on the stick side to seal the game and Championship for Holy Cross. Violette was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player after recording three goals and one assist on the weekend.

In the consolation game Franklin Pierce University overpowered Saint Michael's College, 6-0 to finish the season at 17-8-1. Four different skaters scored a goal for the Ravens and Shannon O'Neill (Tewksbury, Mass.) registered the shutout in net with 17 saves.

The tournament's coaches selected six players to represent their institutions on the All-Tournament team along with selecting the tournament's Most Valuable Player. The full list of All-Tournament honors can be found below.

2016 NEHC Open All-Tournament Team
Carolyn Avery Forward Saint Michael's College
Karsyn Baker Forward Franklin Pierce University
Alison Butler Forward Saint Anselm College
Halle Kent Defense Saint Anselm College
Tessie Salatas Goaltender College of the Holy Cross
Elizabeth Scala Forward College of the Holy Cross
Most Valuable Player: Kara Violette, College of the Holy Cross