Minneapolis, MN The Hockey Humanitarian Award Foundation announced 18 nominees for the 2016 BNY Mellon Wealth Management Hockey Humanitarian Award. Two student athletes for New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) programs were nominated for this year's award. Emily Loebs (Acton, Mass.) of Saint Michael's College joins Jamie Murray (Scituate, Mass.) of Babson College on this year's list of nominees.

The HHA is presented annually to college hockey's finest citizen a student-athlete who makes significant contributions not only to his or her team but also to the community-at-large through leadership in volunteerism.

Murray returns to the list of nominees after being named as a finalist for the award in 2015. Along with Murray's on-ice accolades (2015 Joe Concannon Award Winner, Conference Player of the Year and multiple all-conference and all-tournament recognitions to name a few) the senior netminder is passionate about his off-the-ice contributions to the community as well. He established the Cure for Cole WiffleBall Tournament in 2010 in his hometown of Scituate, Mass. to raise money for neighbor, Cole Pasqualucci, who suffers from a rare kidney disorder. The event has taken off within the community raising over $25,000 for the cause.

Loebs serves as a two-sport captain for the Purple Knights and is truly an 'Iron Women' on the ice. The senior defender has appeared in an astounding 92 of a possible 95 contests during her career and currently has a 53 games-played streak. Off the ice Loebs serves as the co-president for Saint Michael's Student Athlete Advisory Committee. She has been involved in a number of volunteer and fundraising campaigns including Pie Your Professor and Hunger and Homelessness Awareness Week to name a few. Through her work with SAAC the group also created a 'You Can Play' video showing their support of the cause, which is dedicated to ensuring equality and respect for all athletes, regardless of sexual orientation.

Finalists will be announced in February with the 2016 recipient being recognized on Friday, April 8 as part of the NCAA Men's Frozen Four weekend in Tampa, FL.

To see the full list of nominees please click here.