NEHC Announces Men's Major Awards And All-Conference Teams

MARSHFIELD, Mass. - The New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) announced the recipients of the league’s major award winners, All-Conference and All-Rookie Teams as selected by the league’s ten head coaches.

University of Massachusetts Boston’s Nolan Redler (Winchester, Mass.) and Norwich University’s Tom Aubrun (Chamonix, France) were named Players of the Year. Redler led the NEHC in scoring this season posting 23 points on nine goals and 14 assists. He also ranks amongst the top scorers in the nation as his 33 points (14-19) place him at 18th most in the country.

Aubrun, who also received the distinction of Goaltender of the Year, was a force in net for the Cadets this season. In over 840 minutes in goal the junior posted a 1.71 goals against average (1st in the NEHC) while also compiling a .928 save percentage (3rd in the NEHC). Aubrun’s five shutouts on the season are fourth most in the country.

Mike Egan (Billerica, Mass.) of Babson College earned Rookie of the Year accolades after posting 20 points on a balanced 10 goals and 10 assists in NEHC Play. His 20 points were second-most among fellow freshmen.

Babson Head Coach, Jamie Rice, was named NEHC Coach of the Year by his peers as he guided the Beavers to an 11-4-3 mark in conference and a third seed in the NEHC postseason. Babson’s offense ranked third in league, averaging 3.72 goals while their defense surrendered 2.83 goals per game (tied-fifth).

Joining Redler on first team is Beacons teammate Nick Albano (Beverly, Mass.). Albano lead all NEHC defenders in scoring with 17 points on four goals and 13 assists.

The Hobart College duo of Jonas Toupal (Vcelna, Czech Republic) and Jack Macnee (Ridgewood, N.J.) also earned first team All-Conference recognition. Toupal led a Hobart offense that ranked first in scoring offense, averaging 4.17 goals per game. His 18 points (7-11) tied for sixth most in the conference. Macnee anchored the Statesmen defense who surrendered only 2.28 goals per game to league opponents. Macnee also factored into Hobart’s offensive attack with 11 points on one goal and 10 assists.

Rounding out the first team is Babson forward Nick Rosa (Birmingham, Mich.). Rosa ranked second in the NEHC in scoring with 22 points on 10 goals and 12 assists. The sophomore forward has also potted four game-winning goals on the year, which are tied for third most in the country.

Below is a complete list of the 2018-2019 All-Conference and All-Rookie Teams.

Forward - Nolan Redler, UMass Boston
Forward - Nick Rosa, Babson College
Forward - Jonas Toupal, Hobart College
Defense - Nick Albano, UMass Boston
Defense - Jack Macnee, Hobart College
Goaltender - Tom Aubrun, Norwich University

Forward - Carlos Fornaris, New England College
Forward - Connor Fries, New England College
Forward - Felix Brassard, Norwich University
Defense - Austin Rook, Skidmore College
Defense - Tanner Shaw, Hobart College
Goaltender - Anthony Pupplo, New England College

Forward - Mike Egan, Babson College
Forward - Zach Sternbach, Hobart College
Forward - Zack Bross, UMass Boston
Defense* - Ryan McDougall, Babson College
Defense* - Gabriel Chicoine, Norwich University
Defense* - Gabe Chuckran, UMass Boston
Goaltender - Bailey MacBurnie, UMass Boston

Forward - Mike Egan, Babson College
Forward - Zach Tyson, Hobart College
Forward - Brett Ouderkirk, Norwich University
Defense - Austin Rook, Skidmore College
Defense - Gabriel Chicoine, Norwich University
Goaltender - Liam Lascelle, Hobart College

* Represents additional players recognized due to a tie in voting.