Six Named Semifinalists For Concannon Award

MARSHFIELD, Mass. - Six players from New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) institutions were named as semifinalists for the 19th Joe Concannon Award, presented annually to the best American-born NCAA Division II/III hockey player in New England.

UMass Boston's Nick Albano, Bailey MacBurnie and Nolan Redler; Suffolk University's Mikhail Bryan; New England College's Carlos Fornaris and Babson College's Nick Rosa were all tapped as semifinalists. The UMass Boston trio of Albano, MacBurnie and Redler were tied for the most honorees from a single program.

The NEHC has strong ties to the Concannon Award; producing four of the past six winners including the 2018 honoree Colin Larkin of UMass Boston.

The Joe Concannon Award was established in 2001 shortly after the passing of the longtime writer for the Boston Globe, who had a great passion for the game of college hockey while always advocating strongly for amateur athletics.

The Gridiron Club will announce the finalists and winner of the award in March, following league playoffs and before the start of the NCAA D-III Frozen Four. The award will be presented to the winner at the New England College Hockey Writers Dinner in April.

For a full list of the 2019 semifinalists please click here.