Larkin Named Sid Watson And Joe Concannon Award Winner

Parts of this article and photo are courtesy of UMass Boston Athletics Communications. Read the original here and here.

MARSHFIELD, Mass. UMass Boston's senior forward Colin Larkin (Waterford, Mich.) became the first player in program history to win the prestigious Joe Concannon Award and Sid Watson Award as announced this week.

The Joe Concannon Award, which has been awarded for the past 18 seasons, recognizes the best American college hockey player in New England competing at the Division II/III level. The Sid Watson Award is given annually to the top player in all of Division III Men's Hockey as voted by the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA).

As a senior with the Beacons, Larkin earned his second-straight New England Hockey Conference Player of the Year Award and earned a spot on the NEHC First Team for a third-straight year in addition to being named the top American born player in New England at the DII/III level (Concannon) and the top player in all of Division III (Watson).

After the conclusion of the Beacons' season, Larkin became the first player in program history to sign a professional contract with an NHL organization, when he signed a pair of contracts with the Edmonton Oilers.

Larkin led all NEHC players with his 46 points and 1.70 points per game and ranked tied for first with 24 goals and 0.89 goals per game. He also paced the conference in power-play goals (10) and power-play goals per game (0.37) and sat third in assists (22) and assists per game (0.81).