NEHC Student-Athletes And Coach Honored By AHCA

UTICA, N.Y. The American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) announced their major award winners and 2017 CCM Division III Men's Hockey All-Americans with five NEHC student-athletes being recognized. In addition, Norwich University's head coach, Mike McShane earned AHCA Coach of the Year honors.

McShane earned his fifth Ed Jeremiah Division II-III National Coach of the Year Award after leading the Cadets to their 17th NCAA tournament and 12th Frozen Four appearance. The honor is McShane's first since 2010 and he has now won the award more times than any other coach in the award's 47-year history.

In addition to McShane's honor five NEHC student-athletes were named All Americans. Cody Smith (Hudson, Mass.) of Norwich and Colin Larkin (Waterford, Mich.) of the University of Massachusetts Boston were named to the First Team. New England College's Brett Kilar, (Coto de Caza, Calif.) University of Massachusetts Boston's Tyler Bishop (Ramsey, N.J.) and Norwich's William Pelletier (St. Jean Chrysostome, Que.) were named to the Second Team.

All five honorees were First Team All-NEHC selections with Larkin and Kilar earning NEHC Player and Goaltender of the Year honors respectively.

Pelletier led all NEHC skaters this season, posting 46 total points on 18 goals and 28 assists. Larkin was tied for third in the league with 39 total points (20 goals and 19 assists) while Smith ranked fifth with 33 points with his 31 assists leading the league. Bishop's 29 points on a balanced 15 goals and 14 assists ranked him at 7th in the NEHC in point scoring.

Kilar ranked in the top five of every goaltending category in the NEHC this season. His 1,544 minutes played were a league-high while his .941 save percentage and 812 total saves ranked second. Kilar also finished the season ranking second in the nation with five shutouts.

Norwich's junior goaltender Braden Ostepchuk (Lethbridge, Alta.) was awarded the NCAA's Elite 90 Award. The Elite 90 award is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade point average at the final championship site at each of the NCAA's 90 championships. Ostepchuk has a 4.0 in Mechanical Engineering and he completed the Norwich sweep for ice hockey this year after Carly Menges won it last week for the women's team.

The CCM Hockey All-American teams are sponsored by CCM Hockey and chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association.