NEHC Announces Men's Major Awards And All-Conference Teams

MARSHFIELD, Mass. – The New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) announced the recipients of the league's major award winners, All-Conference and All-Rookie Teams as selected by the league's nine head coaches.

University of Massachusetts Boston's Colin Larkin (Waterford, Mich.) earned Player of the Year honors after leading the NEHC in goal scoring with 15. He also added 15 assists on the season for 30 points, tied for tops in the league. Larkin is one of the best goal-scorers in the country as his 19 overall goals rank at third in the nation. This recognition marks the first time in UMass Boston program history to see a Beacon earn Player of the Year accolades.

Fellow Beacons teammate Ryan Cusin (Detroit, Mich.) was honored as the league's Rookie of the Year. Cusin tied for the league lead in points (with Larkin) with 30. His 11 goals were good for third best in the NEHC while his 19 assists placed him at second in assist scoring. In addition, Cusin's 40 overall points this season pace him at fourth nationally.

Brett Kilar (Coto de Caza, Calif.) of New England College earned Goaltender of the Year recognition after playing an incredible 1,066 minutes between the pipes for the Pilgrims. He also maintained a top-5 position in every goaltending statistical category in the NEHC. His 564 saves in league play led the NEHC while his 13-5 record earned him the third best winning percentage. Kilar also ranks amongst tops in the nation as his 1,363 overall minutes played and four shutouts this season both rank second. His .939 overall save percentage ranks fifth best in the country.

After leading Norwich University to its 18th regular season title in the past 19 seasons Mike McShane was recognized as NEHC Coach of the Year by his peers. His Cadets squad rank in the top ten nationally in both team offense (4.28 g/gm -8th) and team defense (1.72 g/gm – 3rd). Norwich led the NEHC in scoring offense (4.44 g/gm), scoring defense (1.44 g/gm), power play (29.5%) and special teams net (+16). McShane also notched his 700th career win this season, becoming only the seventh coach in NCAA hockey history at any level to amass the 700 mark.

Norwich led the league with six total selections to the All-Conference and All-Rookie teams. Cadet teammates William Pelletier (St. Jean Chrysostome, Que.) and Cody Smith (Hudson, Mass.) earned a place on the first team as a forward and defender respectively. Despite appearing in only 12 conference games this season, Pelletier's 26 points ranked third in the NEHC, while his 2.17 points per game outranked all other skaters. Smith led all blueliners as his 25 points ranked tops in defenseman scoring. He also led the way in assist scoring with 23 on the season.

Joining Larkin on the first team is teammate Tyler Bishop (Ramsay, N.J.). The blueliner ranked second amongst all defenseman in scoring with 19 points off four goals and 15 assists. Bishop is also a key component of the Beacons' power play unit, with 11 of his points coming off power play opportunities.

Skidmore College's Anthony Bird (Central Square, N.Y.) was a repeat First Team selection as a forward from last season. His 21 points were good for sixth in the NEHC while his 11 goals ranked third in the league.

Below is a complete list of the 2016-2017 All-Conference and All-Rookie Teams.

Forward: Colin Larkin, UMass Boston
Forward: William Pelletier, Norwich University
Forward: Anthony Bird, Skidmore College
Defense: Tyler Bishop, UMass Boston
Defense: Cody Smith, Norwich University
Goaltender: Brett Kilar, New England Colleg

Forward: Michael Phillips, Babson College
Forward: Andreas Zöllner, New England College
Forward: Tyler Piacentini, Norwich University
Defense*: Jake Donahue, Babson College
Defense*: Danny Divis, Saint Michael's College
Defense*: Peter Sikalis, Saint Anselm College
Goaltender: Braeden Ostepchuk, Norwich University

Forward: Kevin Salvucci, Norwich University
Forward: Marc Cibelli, Skidmore College
Forward: Ryan Cusin, UMass Boston
Defense: Patrick Thornton, Castleton University
Defense: Alec Brandrup, Norwich University
Goaltender*: Matt Pompa, Babson College
Goaltender*: Kyle Shapiro, University of Southern Maine

Forward: Ryan Cusin, UMass Boston
Forward: Nolan Redler, UMass Boston
Forward: Carlos Fornaris, New England College
Defense: Connor Dahlman, Babson College
Defense: Troy Taylor, Castleton University
Goaltender: Brandon Kasel, Skidmore College

* Represents additional players recognized due to a tie in voting.